UW-Stout Shared Governance

Our university has four shared governance groups that represent and advocate for our staff, faculty, and students.
In this Section

Faculty Senate (FS)

Faculty members from each college and academic department serve on the Faculty Senate, providing comprehensive representation from across the academic realm at UW-Stout. FAS has the primary responsibility for academic and educational activities and faculty personnel matters.

Senate of Academic Staff (SAS)

The SAS advocates for fellow academic staff employees at UW-Stout and for the university at large. Academic staff includes professional and administrative personnel other than faculty, limited and classified staff, employees in training, and students.

University Staff Senate (USS)

The USS provides a voice for all university staff on campus. This Senate seeks to engage university staff in the development and promotion of professional development and recognition activities, to create opportunities to provide input on issues that affect university staff, and to facilitate communication among university staff and administrators.

Stout Student Association (SSA)

SSA is the collective student governing body at UW-Stout and represents all students who attend the university. Every year fellow students elect their President, Vice President, and Senators who advocate for the best interests of the student body.

Learn more about the SSA»